two player chess

Two Player Chess

Divide and you will find!
Wild name, real interests
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
gutschi 30 ( +1 | -1 )
Is there a new FIDE rule? My sister played tournment last weekend and she told me that after every draw offer she had made the opponent had got three minutes more time?? Is this a rule to stop the early draws or what? I think it's just stupid! Does anybody know more?
More: Chess
brunetti 50 ( +1 | -1 )
No new rules In quick play finish, if you call the arbiter and ask him to assign a draw since your opponent has no "pratical" winning chances, or he is playing on only on the hope of winning for the time, then if the arbiter doesn't agree and the draw is not assigned, he shall add 3 minutes to the opponent's clock.
Draw offers made from a player to his opponent, in the respect to the regulations, can't be punished with time bonuses. If they made so, they went against FIDE (and probably USCF) regulations.

Alex
death_by_pawns 12 ( +1 | -1 )
You freak me out. How do you know all this stuff so well? You're one of them aliens from Colorado... or Columbia... I dont know...
zdrak 44 ( +1 | -1 )
It is possible she made the draw offer not in accordance to the protocol, so the referee punished her by adding time to the opponent's clock

The protocol for offering a draw is making a move, then offering a draw, then pressing the clock. In some chess federations, this is not mandatory, but only a recommendation. In some, it is mandatory.

Offering a draw while your opponent's clock is ticking is considered to be an impolite attempt to distract the opponent.
triangulator 20 ( +1 | -1 )
i dont offer many draws, but when i have i have offered it on my opponents time and mine(wich ever one suits me the best) and my opponents have never ben able to get 3 min extra- so i got no clue what you are talkin about
tonlesu 52 ( +1 | -1 )
triangulator If you are not offering the draw according to the rules and your opponent complains to the TD then you will get a clue in a hurry. And even if you are offering the draw in the correct manner you can still be penalized if the TD feels you are distracting your opponent. I recall an incident where Reshevsky was chatised for offering a draw after every move when his opponent said this was very distracting. Remember Startrek's prime directive? Well the prime directive in chess tournaments is "Thou shall not distract your opponent."
gutschi 17 ( +1 | -1 )
This means... ...you think it was just a rule in this tourney? No FIDE rule? Puh! I was really afraid.
The funny thing is, she offered the draw, her opponent didn't take and later she won. :)
triangulator 29 ( +1 | -1 )
I know all the TDs in this state and i dont offer a draw unles it is a dead draw and i wont offer or accept before 50 move in otb games and I can see someone complaining after you continuously offer draws but not affter one incdorrect draw offer. If you offer a draw correctly on your own time you cant be penalized