uscf chess

Uscf Chess

Share and you will find!
Crazy name, real interests
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
1nemesis1 12 ( +1 | -1 )
Three repeat draw I am so confused by this , is it three moves that show up in a match for example 1.Kd2 Qd4 2.Kc2 Qc4 3.Kd2 Qd4 4.Kc2 Qc4 5.Kd2 Qd4 stalemate or 10. Kd2 Qd4
28. Kd2 Qd4 50. Kd2 Qd4 stalemate. Thanks for the answers
brunetti 23 ( +1 | -1 )
You need to repeat the position for three times, not the moves. Your first example is a draw (you call it stalemate, but stalemate is another type of draw), the second one would be a draw if all the three positions after Qd4 are identical.

Alex
1nemesis1 1 ( +1 | -1 )
thanks
thalagor 9 ( +1 | -1 )
Also, remember that they're not identical if you could castle in one of the positions but not in another.
ccmcacollister 111 ( +1 | -1 )
Right ... and adding to what thalagor said; they are also not identical if an option to capture en passant existed in the first appearance of an otherwise identical position.
It would seem to me also, that where an organizations rules on 3 time repetition states that all powers and options must be identical, as well as the piece placements ... then if I move a pawn to the 8th rank that move ... and so have an option of promoting it to ANY piece ... wouldn't that be a non-identical position too? Saying it occurs 2 more times immediately due to me and opponent each moving some other piece back and forth for EG. Or is it in fact identical? I would think so, if we only considered the position at completion of The Move. Yet the other 2 examples,, o-o and ep. only have the added option being open at the start of the move...if o-o is performed, or ep is performed or rejected.
Does anyone know for sure?
I realize I must breakdown and scrutinize FIDE rules, and probably USCF as well one of these days again. But usually I'd rather play some blitz !

muppyman 26 ( +1 | -1 )
I seem to recall, Fischer once claimed and was awarded a draw for 3 times repepition of position involving both his rooks, even though the rooks had changed places with each other.The adjudicator decided that the positions were still identical.
More: Chess
ccmcacollister 86 ( +1 | -1 )
Likewise .... Hi muppyman ! Good point. I recall a similar case too, where the players 2 like pieces had swapped squares but twas otherwise identical ... visually identical. And it counted toward the 3 time repetition of position; as it was stated that the TYPE of piece on a given square must be the same but not the specific one of that type which previously occupied it.
But that got my wondering if anyone has seen that type of occurance happen between the players 2 knights, rather than Rooks (which surely must be the most common) ? It's possible but seems like it would be a strange occurance. Even moreso if a player did it with 2 Queens or 2 Same Colored Bishops! !? Has anyone ever seen such rare, if not non-existant, 3-Time-Repetition Draws as those ?
brunetti 16 ( +1 | -1 )
ccmcacollister About your question, since pawns can't go back, it's impossible to have repetitions when an in-between pawn move (promotion or not) exists.

Alex